5th Annual Jingletown Holiday ArtWalk Announced

PDF of Back of Postcard

The Jingletown Arts & Business Community announces the 5th Annual Holiday Art Walk, Saturday and Sunday, December 4 & 5, 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

An opening reception will kick off the Holiday ArtWalk on Friday, December 3, 6:00 to 9:00 pm at 420 Gallery, 420 Peterson Street, between Ford and Glascock Streets, Oakland, 94601 with music by the T-Sisters.

The reception and weekend open studios event are free and open to the public.

The annual holiday open studios in this thriving arts district will highlight the work of artists who live and/or work in the area known as Jingletown, which is situated between the Park and Fruitvale Street bridges adjacent to the Oakland Estuary.

Among other notable artistic enterprises, it is the location of the Institute of Mosaic Art and Float Gallery, as well as studios of many other renowned artists who are living and working in one of the most established artist warehouse districts in Oakland.

Jingletown got its name from Portuguese cannery workers whose earnings would “jingle” in their pockets at the end of the day as they walked home from the factories in the area. As time went on the neighborhood went into disuse, but in the early 1980’s artists realized the potential and converted many of the neglected warehouses into functioning live/work spaces. It is now a flourishing artist community and one of the fastest growing arts districts in the Bay Area.

The goal of the Jingletown Arts and Business Community is to heighten awareness about the rich and diverse population of working and exhibiting artists in the neighborhood, and to promote creative opportunities in the Jingletown Arts District. Visitors to this historic arts district will see colorful mosaic murals on converted warehouse walls, intersection street painting art and the Peterson Street Community Wall, a work in progress which features murals by many of the residents of Jingletown.

Read on for a complete listing of Jingletown artists, businesses and upcoming events in the area.

2010 Holiday ArtWalk participating artists:

420 Gallery, 420 Peterson Street
Mariah Carle, boudoir photography
Kathy Cronin, photography, www.czphotoart.com
Jill Gibson, sculpture, www.gibsonarts.com
Marek Grychczynski, oil, pastel, giclee, www.gryhen.com
Kim Larson, mosaics, www.kimlarsonart.com
Linda Lawson, collage, www.out-of-the-frameworks.com
Grant Marcoux, metal, www.grantsforge.com
Jill McLennan, wax encaustics, prints, giclee & ornaments, www.jillmclennan.com
Francisco Stantos, Watercolor, Pen and Ink, Mixed Media
Bill Silveira, metal, www.automaniastudios.com
Sarah Swell, jewelry, www.sarahswell.com
Susan Tuttle, jewelry and photography
Deborah Weber, stained glass holiday items, www.deborahweber.com
Jon Zax, photography & stuff, www.lotuscolor.net

2889 Ford Street – Gray Lofts
Barbara Cushman, collage/custom stationery, www.barbaracushman.com, #21
Shelley Gardner, mixed media wall sculpture, www.shelleygardner.com, #11
Josh Greenberg, mixed media, #11
Leslie Frierman Grunditz, mixed media collage, www.grunditzart.com, #32
Amy Sollins, drawings, www.amysollins.com, #11
Linda Vaughn, jewelry, www.tmelindamay.blogspot.com, #30
Jan Watten, photography, www.janwatten.com, #32

2899 Ford Street
Lisa Levine, photography, www.LisaLevinePhotography.com

2900 Glascock Street
Lee Krasnow/Pacific Puzzleworks, precision machined wood and metal, www.pacificpuzzleworks.com

3001 Chapman Street
Institute of Mosaic Art, mosaics, www.instituteofmosaicart.com

2934 Ford Street – Ford Street Studios

Jason Dunn, pottery & sculpture, www.jdunnpots.com, #6
Todd c. Hartman, photography, www.LIGHTBondage.Info, #40
Soña Holman, painting, www.sonaholman.com, #16
Chris Kanyusik, ceramic sculpture, www.chriskanyusik.com, #39
Sage Moore, sculpture, #3
Stan Peterson, carved wood sculpture & drawing, www.stan-peterson.com, #4
Fernando Reyes, painting, printmaking, drawing, http://www.freyesart.com, #26
Jordan Quintero, painting, drawing, mixed media, www.jordanquintero.com, #8
Transformative Arts Studio, Visual & Performance art, www.TheBlackHut.com, #21
Hue Yang, pottery & sculpture, www.huesculpture.com, #6

JPGS available on request.

3 thoughts on “5th Annual Jingletown Holiday ArtWalk Announced

  1. sorry- I posted this in the wrong place-

    I wish that the JingleTown walk postcard would indicate which locations are wheelchair accessible.

    Last year I went with a friend who uses a power wheelchair- it was an exercise in disapointment. Over half of the locations that we went to were not accessible (we couldn’t get into at least half the studios.) Check out how Berkeley Artisans does it:\

    http://www.berkeleyartisans.com/listing_page.html

  2. Pingback: SF Area Event Picks for Indie Holiday Shopping Dec3 – Dec5, 2010 « Made In Slant

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s