For Immediate Release, 7th Annual Jingletown Winter Art Walk Announced

7th Annual Jingletown Winter ArtWalk Announced

 

The Jingletown Arts & Business Community is pleased to announce the 7th Annual Winter Art Walk, Saturday and Sunday, December 1 – 2, 11 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

 

The Winter ArtWalk will hold an opening reception on Friday, November 30, 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm at 4:20 Gallery, 420 Peterson Street, between Ford and Glascock Streets, Oakland, 94601.

These events are free and open to the public.The annual winter open studio event will highlight the work of more than 35 artists who live and/or work in the area known as Jingletown, which is situated between the Park and Fruitvale Street bridges bordered by the estuary separating Oakland from the island of Alameda.Among other notable artistic enterprises, it is the location of the Gray Loft Gallery, the Institute of Mosaic Art, Apples & Oranges Gallery and Float Gallery, as well as studios of many other notable artists who are living and working in one of the most established arts districts in the Bay Area.For a complete listing of Jingletown artists, businesses and upcoming events in the area, please visit our website at http://www.jingletown.org.

 Artwalk Participating Artists:

 

4:20 Gallery – 420 Peterson Street

Mariah Carle, photography, www.bayareaboudoir.com

Kathy Cronin, photography, www.czphotoart.com

Jill Gibson, sculpture and jewelry, www.gibsonarts.com

Susan Laing, textiles and jewelry, sjaylaing@yahoo.com

Grant Marcoux, forged metalwork, www.grantsforge.com

Jill McLennan, painting, printmaking & ornaments, www.jillmclennan.com

John Colle Rogers, H20 Colors and sculpture, www.johnko.biz

Bill Silveira, mixed media, www.automaniastudios.com

Susan Tuttle, jewelry and photography, monkey8@earthlink.net

Linda Vaughn, textiles, fiber art, xlindamayx@gmail.com

Jon Zax, photography, www.lotuscolor.net

2889 Ford Street

Barbara Cushman, collage & hand crafted note cards, www.barbaracushman.com  #21

Gray Loft Gallery – 2889 Ford Street, 3rd floor

Susan Brady, mixed media, artist books

Eben Ostby, photography, www.ebenostby.com

Ginny Parsons, mixed media, www.ginnyparsons.net

Styrous, photography, www.styrous.org

Jan Watten, photography, www.janwatten.com

Karyn Yandow, photography, www.artslant.com/karynyandow

Counterpoint Studio – 2899 Ford Street

Lisa Levine, photography, www.lisalevinephoto.com

Peter Tonningsen, photography, www.petertonningsen.com

Institute of Mosaic Art, 3001 Chapman Street

Multiple Artists, mosaics, www.instituteofmosaicart.com

 

Ford Street Studios, 2934 Ford Street

Elena Baikova, painting  #37

Peter Dreyfuss, steel sculpture and watercolors, www.peterdreyfuss.com  #35

Chris Kanyusik, sculpture, www.chriskanyusik.com  #39

Larry Lesterud, photography   #37

Sage Moore, clay   #3

Stan Peterson, sculpture & drawings, www.stan-peterson.com  #4

Fernando Reyes, painting, printmaking, drawing, www.freyesart.com  #26

Anastasia Schipani, textiles and painting, www.anastasiaschipani.com  #30

Apples and Oranges Gallery – 2934 Ford Street  #21

Christopher Ellingson, painting, www.christopherellingson.com

Judy Chamberlin, painting, www.judychamberlinart.com

Chris Kanyusik, sculpture, www.chriskanyusik.com

White Wall Gallery – 2934 Ford Street  #8

Kevin Mark Collins, landscapes, www.kevinmarkcollins.com

Maira Dizgalvis, handmade gourd lamps

Hannah Woebkenberg, mixed media, www.hannahsevolution.blogspot.com

 

 

About Jingletown: Jingletown acquired its name from Portuguese cannery workers whose earnings would “jingle” in their pockets at the end of the day as they walked home from the factories in the area.  As time went on the neighborhood went into disuse, but in the early 1980’s artists realized the potential and converted many of the neglected warehouses into functioning live/work spaces.  It is now a thriving artist community and one of the fastest growing arts districts in the Bay Area.

 

In a time when our neighborhood has been changing dramatically, the goal of the Jingletown Arts and Business Community is to heighten awareness about the rich and diverse population of working and exhibiting artists and the creative opportunities in the Jingletown Arts District.

 

 

 

Jingletown Winter Art Walk

For Immediate Release

Contact: Jan Watten

510.499-3445

janwatten@gmail.com

www.jingletown.org

About these ads

2 thoughts on “For Immediate Release, 7th Annual Jingletown Winter Art Walk Announced

  1. Pingback: This Weekend in Oakland | Oakland North

  2. Pingback: Winter holidays 2012: December special events, and what’s open on Christmas | Oakland North

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s